PHRASEOLOGY

I was recently re-reading some of my blogs (trying to bring up the stats of how many people look at my blog) and I have come to the conclusion that my viewing public consists of about 8 people –
5 of those being me.
I’m like Mr. Bean sending himself Christmas cards!
But I digress. That’s not what today’s blog is about. Re-reading those blogs, I have come to the conclusion that I use the phrase, “I have come to the conclusion” way too many times. I will attempt to correct that in the future.

Have you even gotten stuck using a phase over and over again in your normal conversation? For a period of time, for some reason, I kept saying “Okie Dokie” whenever anyone asked me something. “Would you look at this file for me?” Okie Dokie! “Could you move your coffee cup?” Okie Dokie! “Everyone here thinks you’re an idiot.” Okie Dokie!

I finally came to the conclusion that I was sounding like a hillbilly or something. It took months to wean myself off of saying, “Okie Dokie”.

Anyway, like I said, “I have come to the conclusion” will never again be used in my blogs. If I do use that phase again, I will look to you, my vast audience, to correct me.

Okie Dokie?

4 Responses

  1. I feel the same way about the phrase "bye bye" for anyone over 12yrs old.

  2. Oh dad, this one was funny!

  3. Agreed with Susan. We have a guy at work that says "Fun fun fun" all the time. It has crossed to other people in the office.

  4. Ben does this! His most recent…"the fact of the matter is…"

Leave a Reply

